Film Review: The Bling Ring

The Bling Ring (2013)

MV5BMTQzMTgwMzQxN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTcwNTY0OQ@@._V1_SX214_

Due to the fact that this film received generally mixed reviews, I was very reluctant to watch it. With my history of enjoying all of Coppola’s previous films versus the negative reviews from my trustee film reviewing allies, I found myself oscillating between an intense need to see the film, and a predetermined distaste toward it. Upon viewing it though, I received the greatest feeling that one can receive only when they are pleasantly surprised by the outcome of something. Of course Sophia Coppola could not fail, and The Bling Ring is no exception. Yes, I am in agreement that the stealing and thievery that goes on in the film can become a bit tedious, if not making me feel like I am watching the security camera footage myself (and checking it twice). At the same time Coppola accurately and well portrays the psychosis in the minds of teenagers today in L.A, if not in the rest of our nation. Of course the film is also shot beautifully, the last twenty minutes being my favorite. The standout characters in this film were those portrayed by Emma Watson, Taissa Farmiga, and Leslie Mann, while other characters seemed to lack depth, and seemed almost in a daze. If this was a character choice on their part, it could have simply been passed off as shallow acting. Other than that The Bling Ring, although dragging on to convey its point, is a real psychological thriller, accurately portraying the state our world is in today, and provides a somewhat satirical outlook on it.

Rotten Tomatoes: 60%

My Rating: B-

“The Bling Ring” is rated R (Under 17 requires accompanying parent or adult guardian). You definitely don’t want your teenagers to see what these teenagers get away with.

What did Lindsey say?

Leave a Reply

